Take off your shit-tinted specs and learn to THRIVE!

The Virtual Assistant UK Felicity

This article has really resonated with me today because it took me a while to remove my shit-tinted spectacles and learn to thrive! 😎

So, let’s play a game. Over the course of this week, listen out for these phrases, or variations, and see how many of your friends, family and colleagues actively use versions of them in their daily lives. I bet that it’ll be more than you imagined, a lot more.

  • “This is a CATASTROPHE/DISASTER/NIGHTMARE!”
  • “That makes me so DEPRESSED/ANXIOUS/SAD…”
  • “I can’t COPE!”
  • “This is IMPOSSIBLE/I CAN’T do this…”
  • “I’m so ILL/SICK/KNACKERED/TIRED…”
  • “This is RIDICULOUS/OUTRAGEOUS!”
  • “I don’t BELIEVE it…”
  • “I SHOULD be able to do this…”

You’ll be shocked at how much anxiety, stress and broodiness you and others are causing themselves to experience just by allowing negative phrasing and thoughts.

And, like water seeping into the ground, this slowly infests our mindset and attitudes with negative thoughts, thinking styles, emotions and views of our lives. You will, if you hear it often enough, believe that it really is a disaster, a real living nightmare or a serious illness.

Once you recognise why the words you use everyday matter, you can train yourself to adopt more positive language around your experiences and change your mindset.

Source:

https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/entry/why-the-words-you-use-every-day-really-matter_uk_5a33e8d2e4b02bd1c8c60618?fbclid=IwAR2lBAj5uSaRqo_jvIXH-lBAtbYzN7E7hRVfwW30r395BxURGlAL05PdYVk

I completed Rob Kelly’s Thrive Programme with the wonderful Mary at Thrive Your Life at https://thriveyourlife.co.uk/.

Leave a comment